GECF Ministerial Meeting Holds on 16 November 2021

0
Post Views: 668

La Paz, Bolivia, and Doha, QATAR –: The 23rd edition of the annual Ministerial Meeting of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF) will take place online on 16 November 2021 under the Presidency of the Plurinational State of Bolivia.

The kick-off session of the Meeting, which is open to members of the public and media, will feature welcome addresses by HE Franklin Molina Ortiz, Bolivian Minister of Hydrocarbons and Energies, HE Yury Sentyurin, GECF Secretary-General, as well as Ministers and Head of Delegations. Invited top-ranking officials from guest countries and organizations are also expected to address the gathering.

The broadcast will commence at 8:00 am La Paz time (3:00 pm Doha, 12:00 pm GMT) on https://youtu.be/pBbyoZN9_3c.

The GECF Ministerial Meeting formulates the general policy of the Forum and determines the best methods and means of implementation; appoints the Chairman and Alternate Chairman of the Executive Board; decides on membership applications; approves the Programme of Work and Budget of the Forum.

During the 23rd Meeting, the Ministers from the 18-member grouping will respond to the key agenda items, including preparations for the 6th GECF Summit of Heads of State and Government, the appointment of the new Secretary-General of the Forum, review of the flagship publications such as the Global Gas Outlook 2050, the Annual Short-Term Gas Market Report, and the Annual Statistical Bulletin.

More details about the 23rd Ministerial Meeting are available on the dedicated page https://gecf.mhe.gob.bo/. In addition to the opening session, members of media may wish to cover the post-event press conference, assumingly scheduled for 12:00 pm La Paz time (7:00 pm Doha, 4:00 pm GMT).

The respective accreditation form is accessible at https://gecf.mhe.gob.bo/acreditaciones/.

The GECF Ministerial Meeting is the supreme decision-making body of the Forum, which is a gathering of the world’s leading gas exporting countries. The Forum was set up as an intergovernmental organization with the objective to increase the level of coordination and strengthen the collaboration among its Member Countries. Its 18 Member Countries and Observer Members represent 70% of the world’s proven gas reserves, 44% of its marketed production, 52% of the pipeline, and 51% of LNG exports across the globe. Its permanent secretariat is headquartered in Doha, Qatar.