SPE’s 2018 International Awards Honorees Recognized at ATCE

Dallas, Texas, USA  — The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) will recognize individuals who have made significant technical and professional contributions to the industry as well as those who have displayed exceptional service and leadership to the society. Honorees will be recognized during the Annual Reception and Banquet at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) on Tuesday, 25 September, from 1830-2200 hours at the Omni Hotel in Dallas.


“The recent challenges for this industry have been well documented, but the perseverance, creativity, and continued efforts to shape a new era of operational efficiency and technological advancement have unfortunately not received as much attention,” said 2018 SPE President Darcy Spady. “Our members act as role models in their fields and we are honored to take a moment to formally commend these individuals for their tremendous work as they and their colleagues propel this industry into the future.”


This year’s program will recognize the following members: 

Distinguished Membership

  • I. Yucel Akkutlu
  • Ghaithan Al-Muntasheri
  • Ashraf Al-Tahini
  • Mohammed Badri
  • Linda Battalora
  • Elizabeth Cheney
  • Eldon Dalrymple
  • Mohammad Fassihi
  • Daniel Georgi
  • Berna Hascakir
  • Jan Dirk Jansen
  • Chet Ozgen
  • Terry Palisch
  • Ian Phillips
  • Alejandra Reynaldos Rojas
  • James Sheng
  • Ovadia Shoham
  • Pedro Silva
  • Rick Stanley
  • Michael Thambynayagam

Honorary Membership

  • Christine Ehlig-Economides
  • Behrooz Fattahi
  • C. Susan Howes
  • Mridul Kumar
  • Joyce Holtzclaw
  • Stefan Miska


In addition, the event will acknowledge the following 2018 SPE award recipients:

John Franklin Carll Award

  • Sadanand Joshi

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal

  • Robert Barree*

Lester C. Uren Award

  • Jitendra Kikani*

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

  • Anuj Gupta

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal

  • Scott Sheffield*

Robert Earl McConnell Award

  • Ali Ghalambor

Public Service Award

  • David C. Baldwin*

Distinguished Service Award

  • Annie Audibert-Hayet
  • Deepak M. Gala*
  • Mohan Kelkar
  • Terry Palicsh**
  • Hemanta Sarma

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty

  • Jan Dirk Jansen **

Young Member Outstanding Service Award

  • Zeid Ghareeb
  • Rafael E. Hincapie
  • Francis Oko
  • Yogashri Pradhan
  • Mouza Al Houqani

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal

  • Mahdi Haddad – Medal
  • Jing Du and Sandrine Vidal-Gilbert – Certificates

Completions Optimization and Technology Award

  • C. Mark Pearson

Drilling Engineering Award

  • Dan Scott

Formation Evaluation Award

  • Leonty Tabarovsky

Health, Safety, Environment Award

  • Richard Haut

Management and Information Award

  • Pierre Delfiner

Production and Operations Award

  • Jennifer Julian

Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award

  • Siamack Shirazi

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

  • Mustafa Onur


*     Automatically elected as SPE Distinguished Member

**   Also elected as SPE Distinguished Member


For more information on ATCE 2018, visit www.atce.org/.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.